#6 Name of the Lord for Today: The Wonderful Counselor will uphold you

writing to God
Writing to God: 40 Days of Praying with My Pen (Active Prayer Series)

During our move this weekend, I unearthed this awesome find!  Meg got this for my birthday a couple years back and it has been a great resource over the years. (Meg always knocks it out of the park with Birthday gifts)  As I was flipping through the pages, I found this entry that I would like to share with you today because of it’s relevance to the Name of the God for Today theme

Prayer of Names:

O God,

if I call you Father,

will you please watch over me and those in my house,

and guard us lie a watchmen at night?

O God,

if I call you Mother,

may I curl up next to you when I have nightmares,

and will you you soothe me when i am sick?

O God,

if I call you Lover,

will you keep me company through thick and thin,

and encourage me to my best self?

And God,

if I confess that you are beyond naming,

will you please be greater than me and beyond my understanding,

so that the things I cannot fathom but so desperately want-

lion-and -lamb peace,

feeding miracles by the millions,

tears-into-joy justice-

can be conceived and built by your imagination?

Will you please be holy so that I can be human,

to the best of my ability

The Wonderful Counselor will uphold you. 

Read Isaiah 9:6

What name of God- from this passage or from you journey of faith- resonates deeply with your spirit?

Take time today to read and reflect on this scripture as well as journal those thoughts in the form of a prayer to the Lord.

 

And the effect of righteousness will be peace,and the result of righteousness, quietness and trust forever

Isaiah 32:17  

Leave a Reply

