# 3 Name of the Lord for Today: Author of Eternal Salvation

 ..though He was a Son, yet He learned obedience by the things which He suffered. And having been perfected, He became the author of eternal salvation to all who obey Him

Hebrews 5:8-9

Good morning!  As I go through the process of waking up today, getting caffeinated and inspired, I am reflecting of this passage in Hebrews 5. Today’s focus is on the Lord as The Author of Eternal Salvation.

For years I have been a huge fan of talk radio, and in this modern era that has morphed into a love for podcast.  I often refer to myself as a podcast junkie.  In one of the podcast that has captured my attention lately, the host interviews different entrepreneurs and innovators out there taking action, pushing the envelop, and daily expanding the horizons of possibility.  These daily dialogues have been  inspiring and are constantly challenging me to see life with a radically new mindset.

On every show he ask his guest what them held back from stepping out, taking action and risking to do what they do.  Inevitably every person will say that fear was holding them back.   When I am on the show, and asked that question I think my answer will be a little different.  For me I wouldn’t describe it as Fear (though that definitely has played a role) my hinderance for years has been that I never saw myself as “that person”.  Have you ever had that same struggle?  Have you wanted something but hit the wall of “that’s not me”  or “I am just not that person”?

Today I want to share that our creator is a God who is the author of a story that changes the way we see all of life. That moment of salvation took place in my life almost 20 years ago, but for me salvation is not simply a moment in time, it is an ongoing moment and encounter, that has drawn me closer to the author of life, that constantly renews me and my view of life.  The author of my salvation is one that sees the reality of my sin, and my isolation, yet say’s there is room for me in His heart and His purposes for the planet.

For years I never saw myself as that person.  I was aimless and grew increasingly more isolated from friends, family and ultimately God, because I lived in a story and an identity that separated from the greatest source of Life!

Today I thank Jesus for being the author of my salvation, and the way He drew me to the realization that I am that person that He loves, accepts and longs to Save!  I love that He is described as Eternal Salvation it is ongoing always fresh, dynamic  mind-blowing revelation of just how incredible He is.

There is no one like the God of Jeshurun, Who rides the heavens to help you, And in His excellency on the clouds. The eternal God is your refuge, And underneath are the everlasting arms; He will thrust out the enemy from before you, And will say, ‘Destroy!’ Then Israel shall dwell in safety, The fountain of Jacob alone, In a land of grain and new wine; His heavens shall also drop dew. Happy are you, O Israel! Who is like you, a people saved by the LordThe shield of your help And the sword of your majesty! Your enemies shall submit to you, And you shall tread down their high places.”      Deuteronomy 33:26-29

I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist. Return to me, for I have redeemed you.”

Sing for joy, you heavens, for the Lord has done this; shout aloud, you earth beneath.Burst into song, you mountains, you forests and all your trees, for the Lord has redeemed Jacob, he displays his glory in Israel.

Isaiah 44:22-23

Leave a Reply

