#2 Name Of God for Today: Author and Perfector of our Faith

photo credit: Alan Cleaver via photopin cc
photo credit: Alan Cleaver via photopin cc

“fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

Hebrews 12:2

This verse has been a source of confidence to me for years! I have drawn strength from the fact that Jesus is involved in my story, and is working to perfect my walk with him.  Another aspect my mind is drawn to this morning, is that Jesus is described as the author of our faith.  I have always been fascinated by those with the gift of writing!  I love their ability to create and captivate.  An author has the ability to draw you into a story and carry you across the threshold to new possibilities and realities!

An author has the gift of translating imagination into words, and those words invite many to join the dreams they see.  I love that as the author of my story, Jesus can come in and reshape a plot that has drifted far off course. He enters into my story and reimagines possibilities, and instills hope and confidence in my journey through this life.

This morning as you continue your journey, my desire is that you discover the beauty and power of the author of your faith!  Today’s name of God points to the fact that Jesus is both the Creator and Saviour in your Story.

Nature of God: God is Creator

By the word of the Lord the heavens were made,
And by the breath of His mouth all their host.
He gathers the waters of the sea together as a heap;
He lays up the deeps in storehouses.
Let all the earth fear the Lord;
Let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of Him.
For He spoke, and it was done;
He commanded, and it stood fast.

Psalms 33:6-9

16 For by Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things have been created through Him and for Him. 17 He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.

Colossians 1:16-17

Nature of God: God is Saviour

“I have wiped out your transgressions like a thick cloud
And your sins like a heavy mist.
Return to Me, for I have redeemed you.”
23 Shout for joy, O heavens, for the Lord has done it!
Shout joyfully, you lower parts of the earth;
Break forth into a shout of joy, you mountains,
O forest, and every tree in it;
For the Lord has redeemed Jacob
And in Israel He shows forth His glory.

Isaiah 44:22-23

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
Whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the defense of my life;
Whom shall I dread?

Psalms 27:1

But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, made us alive together with Christ by grace you have been saved), and raised us up with Him, and seated us with Him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the ages to come He might show the surpassing riches of His grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.

Leave a Reply

