#1 Name of God for Today: Arm of The Lord

Name of the Lord for today  -from Ken

In an attempt to find some peace in my day, as well as keep the kids active and occupied, I am sitting at the pool reflecting on today’s “Name of the Lord” and how it informs my journey into the heart and the character of our God.

Today’s look into the ‘Character of God’ is revealed through the ‘The Arm of The Lord’

“Who has believed our message? And to whom has the arm of the Lord been revealed?   Is. 53:1

I have settled in and I am totally ready for some time to focus and get some reading done! That’s always the goal every time I come down, but reality is never what I dream!  As I begin today, Chloe starts screaming my name!  Frustrated I look over to see why I am needed SO SOON, and can tell that Chloe is trying to get a towel that is totally out of her reach.  All it took for me is to take a second and grab it for her.  That’s all just my attention, and the reach of my arm solved the problem.  Getting back to my journal and reading i realized that is was exactly where I am at the moment!  I was sitting i frustration because there are so many things that feel completely out of my reach!  But unlike myself the Lord doesn’t operate out of frustration, and the things in my life that are out of my reach are well within his!  I just have to call on Him and wait for him to stretch out his arm!

The “Arm of The Lord” reveals the reach and strength of The Lord, and his ability and willingness to exercise that on our behalf, as he reaches into the gaps in our lives. I need that today in my own struggles! I need that lesson as i parent my kids! There are time that they need my arm, that need my reach that is greater than theirs. And it also challenges me in my unwillingness to be interrupted!

Awake, awake, put on strength, O arm of the Lord;
Awake as in the days of old, the generations of long ago.
Was it not You who cut Rahab in pieces,
Who pierced the dragon?  Is. 51:9

Surely the arm of the Lord is not too short to save, nor his ear too dull to hear. isaiah 59:1

My own hand laid the foundations of the earth, and my right hand spread out the heavens; when I summon them, they all stand up together.  Is 48:13

He who forms the mountains, who creates the wind, and who reveals his thoughts to mankind, who turns dawn to darkness, and treads on the heights of the earth the Lord God Almighty is his name.   Amos 4:13

I pray that this will encourage you today and give a glimpse into the person of our Lord!

Leave a Reply

